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Ohio Department of Natural Resources
DIVISION OF WILDLIFE

LAKE ERIE FISHING GUIDE LICENSE APPLICATION

WILDLIFE

CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX: [ /NEW [_JRENEWAL

FULL NAME OF APPLICANT DATE OF BIRTH (mo/dy/yr) SSN or TAX ID
MAILING ADDRESS COUNTY (TELEPH())NE

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

LIST ALL PLACES OF DOCKING (include city and marina or docking area) E-MAIL ADDRESS

LICENSEE IS: [ /BOAT GUIDE ONLY [ JBOAT AND ICE GUIDE [ ]ICE GUIDE ONLY

NAME OF BOAT OH NUMBER or FEDERAL DOCUMENT NUMBER LENGTH (ft.)

COAST GUARD LICENSE No. EXPIRATION DATE

NUMBER OF ICE SHANTIES AND GENERAL LOCATION

Check No. in the amount of $50.00 payable to ODNR Division of Wildlife is attached.

The applicant certifies that he understands the provisions of Chapter 1533.51 of the Ohio Revised Code, 1501:31-3-11 of
the Ohio Administrative Code and that this application is made in good faith with the statements made herein being true.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

Submit application to: LAKE ERIE LAW ENFORCEMENT, 305 E. SHORELINE DR., SANDUSKY, OH 44870.
Your coast guard license or a notarized copy of that license must accompany this application.

Completion of this form is required - Section 2921.13 O.R.C., Penalty: imprisonment up to 6 months or $1000 fine or both.
Section 1533.51 O.R.C., Penalty: imprisonment up to 6 months or $1000 fine or both.

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE, FOR OFFICAL USE ONLY

DATE RECEIVED DATE ISSUED PERMIT # DECAL # ISSUED BY CHECK # CHECK AMOUNT

DNR 8950 (R0215)



1533.51 FISHING GUIDE LICENSE
No person shall be or serve as a fishing guide in the Lake Erie fishing district without a license from the chief of the
division of wildlife. The application for a license, and the license, shall be in such form as the chief prescribes.

The chief, with the approval of the wildlife council, may establish the qualifications for such a license and the terms,
conditions, and restrictions thereof. Such qualifications when applicable shall include that the applicant possesses
a power boat operator’s license from a department, agency, commission, or instrumentality of the United States.

Fishing guide licenses shall expire each year on the fifteenth day of April. Such a license shall be carried by the
person in command of the boat or person in charge, upon his person, when such service is being performed and
shall be exhibited upon demand to any wildlife officer or other law enforcement officer who has authority to enforce
the wildlife, hunting, and fishing laws.

The license fee for a fishing guide license is fifty dollars per person.

The license fee for other services or devices, as approved by the chief, not mentioned in this section shall be an
amount set by the chief with the approval of the wildlife council, not to exceed twenty-five dollars.

All license fees collected from fishing guides shall be deposited in the state treasury pursuant to section 1533.33 of
the Revised Code.

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of this section or division rule adopted pursuant to it.

1501:31-3-11 FISHING GUIDES

(A) First-time applicants for an Ohio fishing guide license shall submit their coast guard license or a notarized copy
of same along with their application and fee. Applicants for a fishing guide license renewal must submit their
coast guard license or a notarized copy of same only when their coast guard license has been renewed after
obtaining their previous year’s fishing guide license. This paragraph shall not apply to fishing guides who use
their licenses only to guide fishermen to ice shanties.

(B) It shall be unlawful for any person to make a copy of an Ohio fishing guide license. The individual in command of
a boat or in charge of an ice guide service shall possess his original fishing guide license when guide services
are being performed and shall exhibit it upon demand to any game protector or other law enforcement officer
who has authority to enforce the wildlife, hunting, and fishing laws.

(C) It shall be unlawful for any individual to operate on lake erie as a fishing guide without possessing a valid Ohio
fishing guide license. Provided further, persons properly licensed as a fishing guide shall be exempt from keep-
ing catch reports as required in section 1533.511 of the Revised Code.

(D) It shall be unlawful for any person to operate on lake Erie a boat for consideration or hire as a fishing guide boat
without displaying a fishing guide decal furnished by the division of wildlife.

(E) The fishing guide decal shall be:
(1) In a form prescribed by the chief of the division of wildlife.
(2) Serialized with a different number on each decal.
(3) Issued annually.
(4) Valid on April sixteenth of each year and expire on the following April fifteenth.
(5) Displayed in the inside lower left corner of the front windshield of a boat, or when no windshield is
present, displayed on the exterior of the boat stern in the upper left corner.
(F) It shall be unlawful for:
(1) A person to display on a boat an expired fishing guide decal.
(2) A person to display on a boat a fishing guide decal issued to another person, except when it is
displayed in addition to the one issued to the person performing as a fishing guide.

(G) All definitions set forth in rule 1501:31-1-02 of the Administrative Code shall apply to this rule.
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