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The sport of falconry has been dramatized and romanticized 
by popular movies.  Falconry is not as dramatic or romantic as 
the movies lead you to believe.  This sport requires a tremen-
dous amount of patience, dedication, time, and money.  Falconry 
demands both devotion to the sport and to the care of the birds.     
Unlike many popular sports or hobbies, falconry does not lend 
itself to the occasional weekend endeavor.  It is important for 
prospective falconers to be aware of the involvement necessary 
to participate.

In recent years, falconry has become increasingly popular 
in the United States, and it is now legal in all states but Hawaii.  
Raptors are afforded protection under the federal Migratory Bird 
Treaty Act.  The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service and individual states 
are cooperatively entrusted with the conservation of all migratory 
birds.  This includes native and non-native species, both wild-
caught and captive bred.  Under strict regulations, the act makes 
allowances for the sport of falconry.  Once properly permitted by 
the Division of Wildife an individual may engage in the sport of 
falconry with a wild-caught or captive-raised raptor.

Obtaining a falconry permit is a detailed process that takes 
months to complete.  Prospective falconers must be at least 16 
years of age and must first familiarize themselves with the regu-
lations, terminology, methods of raptor care, required equipment, 
and procedures used in the sport of falconry. Libraries, book 
stores, and Internet websites are good research tools as there 
are a number of falconry manuals and books that have been 
published.  Online falconry clubs and discussion forums are also 
beneficial resources. The Division of Wildlife recommends North 
American Falconry and Hunting Hawks by Beebe and Webster as 
suggested reading.

After becoming familiar with these falconry topics, the pro-
spective falconer must secure a licensed falconer who will spon-
sor them as an apprentice for two years.  The sponsor must be 
either a general or master class falconer and from Ohio or an 
adjacent state.  

After a sponsor has been secured and the apprentice is 
knowledgeable in the sport of falconry, an appointment is made 
with the Ohio Division of Wildlife to take the falconry exam. The 
exam determines if the applicant has sufficient knowledge to 
practice falconry. There is an application fee of $75 to take the 
exam and a score of 80 percent is required to be eligible for a 
falconry permit.  If the apprentice fails the test, they must wait six 
months before retesting.  After the applicant successfully passes, 
they may begin the construction of raptor housing facilities under 

the direction of the sponsor.  Facilities consist of a small out-
building or enclosed room called a mew and/or a larger outdoor 
cage-like structure called a weathering area.  The facilities must 
be equipped with the required equipment: jesses, swivels and 
leashes, outdoor perches, bath container, and an accurate bal-
ance or scales.  Once constructed and equipped, the facilities 
must undergo an inspection by the Division of Wildlife.  Once the 
facilities are approved, the state application is completed and 
fees paid. 

Apprentice falconers are then required to obtain a raptor 
capture permit.  Using an approved raptor trap, the sponsor and 
their apprentice can capture an immature red-tailed hawk or 
American kestrel from August through February. The apprentice 
will begin to train and care for their new raptor.  The apprentice 
is mandated to spend a minimum of 30 minutes a day training 
and caring for the bird.  A daily log must be kept of the time spent 
with the bird and its daily weight.  An apprentice falconer must 
remain in this status for two seasons before being eligible to 
become a general class falconer.

All falconers are required to possess a valid hunting license 
and adhere to season dates and time.  Prior to obtaining their first 
hunting license, a hunter education course must be successfully 
completed. A detailed record of hunting trips, game taken, and 
other hawk possession records must be kept and submitted on 
annual reports.

Because of the of the year-round daily care requirements 
of a captive raptor, falconry is only for those properly dedicated 
and committed to both the sport and to the raptors it utilizes. 
For more information on falconry 
permits please contact:

Ohio Division of Wildlife
Law Enforcement Section 
2045 Morse Road, Bldg G3 
Columbus, OH 43229 
         -or visit-
www.WildOhio.com.  
www.OhioFalconry.org
www.n-a-f-a.org.



Chapter 1501:31-37 Falconry Permits
(A) It shall be unlawful for a person to engage in falconry without an Ohio 

falconry permit except as provided in paragraph (C) of this rule. The 
falconry permit fee shall be seventy-five dollars for a new applicant and 
twenty-five dollars for each year the permit is issued. Permits may be 
issued for up to three years. The falconry permit shall expire on the date 
specified on the permit. Current holders of a valid falconry permit shall 
renew each permit prior to the expiration date specified on said permit. 
Permits may be issued for a three-year period, the fee for which shall 
be twenty-five dollars per year. All the fees for revoked permits shall 
be forfeited to the division of wildlife. All permit fees shall be forfeited 
if the applicant fails to meet the permit qualifications in one year. A 
permit holder may request in writing to the chief that the permit be held 
inactive for the remainder of the permit period. While on inactive status, 
facilities are not required. A facilities inspection must take place prior 
to renewing the permit and possessing any raptors. General or master 
class permit holders who have allowed their permits to expire or who 
have relocated from out-of-state may apply for an Ohio falconry permit 
when evidence of a previous falconry permit is presented and upon 
payment of the permit fee.

(B) It shall be unlawful for any person to obtain, possess or maintain a rap-
tor for falconry purposes without first having obtained an Ohio falconry 
permit, except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

(C) It shall be unlawful for any person who is a nonresident to engage in 
falconry in Ohio unless said person possesses a valid Ohio nonresident 
hunting license, has proof that they legally possess the raptor and are 
legally authorized to engage in falconry in their state of residence. Non-
residents while participating in falconry field trials approved by the divi-
sion of wildlife are exempt from the Ohio falconry permit and the non-
resident hunting license requirements upon providing proof that they 
are legally authorized to engage in falconry in their state of residence.

(D) Each first time applicant for an Ohio falconry permit shall provide to 
the division of wildlife a completed application. The application must 
contain the name, address and federal falconry permit number of a for-
mally designated sponsor who holds a general or master class falconry 
permit. Sponsors must be an Ohio resident or a resident of an adjacent 
state. A falconry permit shall not be issued before the applicant has 
answered correctly at least eighty percent of the questions on a super-
vised examination provided by the division of wildlife and approved by 
the U.S. fish and wildlife service. The examination may relate to basic 
biology, care and handling of raptors, literature, regulations, and other 
appropriate subject matter. Any person who fails to pass the exam must 
wait a minimum of six months from the date of the exam before making 
another application for a permit.

(E) Each applicant for a permit to practice falconry shall submit to the divi-
sion of wildlife a completed application form provided by the division, 
which shall include, but is not limited to, the number of raptors the ap-
plicant possesses at the time the application is submitted, the species, 
age (if known), sex (if known), date of acquisition, source of each, and 
federal marker number.

(F) A permit shall not be issued unless the applicant has adequate facilities 
and equipment, inspected and approved by a representative of the divi-
sion of wildlife which meet federal and state regulations.

(G) The applicant shall have available either a mews and/or a weathering 
area which provides protection from the environment, predators and 
undue disturbance.

(1) A mews shall be large enough to allow easy access for caring for the 
raptors housed in the facility. If more than one raptor is to be kept in the 
mews, the raptors shall be tethered or separated by partitions and the 
area for each bird shall be large enough to allow the bird to fully extend 
its wings. There shall be at least one window, all of which are protected 
on the inside by vertical bars, spaced narrower than the width of the 
bird’s body, and a secure door that can be easily closed. The floor of the 

mews shall permit easy cleaning and shall be well drained. Adequate 
perches shall be provided.

(2) A weathering area shall be entirely enclosed and covered by heavy-
gauge wire, heavy-duty plastic mesh, slats, pipe, wood or other suitable 
material, with portions of solid walls and roofing or solid enclosures 
so as to protect the birds from disturbance, escape, adverse weather 
conditions and attack by predators. The enclosed area shall be large 
enough to ensure the birds cannot strike any fencing when tethered 
from a perch within the weathering area. Protection from excessive 
sun, wind, and inclement weather shall be provided for each bird. Ad-
equate perches shall be provided.

(H) Equipment of the following nature must be in the possession of the 
applicant before a falconry permit will be issued:

(1) Jesses – for each bird, at least one pair of jesses constructed of pliable, 
high-quality leather or suitable synthetic material to be used when any 
raptor is flown free. Traditional one-piece jesses may be used on rap-
tors when not being flown;

(2) Leashes and swivels – for each bird, at least one flexible weather-
resistant leash and one strong swivel of acceptable falconry design;

(3) Bath container – at least one suitable container, two to six inches deep 
and with one dimension at least as great as the length of the raptor, for 
drinking and bathing for each raptor;

(4) Outdoor perches – at least one weathering area perch of an acceptable 
design shall be provided for each raptor; and

(5) Weighing device – a reliable scale or balance graduated in increments 
of not more than one half ounce, or the metric equivalent, suitable for 
weighing the raptor shall be provided.

(I) All housing, equipment and facilities shall be maintained at or above the 
preceding standards. Failure to correct any deficiencies within forty-
eight hours of written notification or two written notifications within a 
twelve-month period shall result in revocation of the falconry permit for 
the period of one year.

(J) A person receiving an apprentice class permit shall devote a minimum 
of one-half hour per day to the care and training of each raptor, except 
when the bird is placed in the mew or weathering area during its molt.

(K) A daily log shall be maintained by the apprentice class permittee, re-
cording the times devoted to the care and training of each raptor, and 
their daily weights, except while the bird is being kept in the mew or 
weathering area during the molt. The log shall be open for inspection by 
authorized personnel of the division of wildlife during reasonable hours.

(L) All permittee shall submit a falconry report to the division of wildlife by 
July thirty-first of each year. The report shall contain the following and 
any other information required on forms prescribed by the chief:

(1) A listing of all raptors in possession on June thirtieth of the year in which 
the report is filed, by species, marker number, sex, age, and date and 
where or from whom acquired.

(2) A listing by species of all raptors possessed or acquired since the previ-
ous annual report, but no longer possessed, including marker number, 
sex, age, date and where or from whom acquired, whether escaped, 
died or released, and when the event occurred.

(3) A record of each wild animal taken by species.

(4) Any other information requested by the division of wildlife.

(M) Falconry permits shall be of three classes, as follows:

(1) Apprentice class

(a) Permittee shall be at least sixteen years old.

(b) A sponsor who is a holder of a general or master falconry permit is 
required for the first two years in which an apprentice permit is held, 
regardless of the age of the permittee. A sponsor may not have more 
than three apprentices at any one time.

(c) Permittee shall not possess more than one raptor and may not obtain 
more than two raptors for replacement during any twelve-month period.



(d) Permittee shall possess only an American kestrel, Falco sparverius, or a 
red-tailed hawk, Buteo jamaicensis.

(2) General class

(a) Permittee shall be at least twenty years old.

(b) Permittee shall have at least two years experience in the practice of fal-
conry in the apprentice class and upon request shall present evidence 
that a generally accepted standard of proficiency in falconry has been 
achieved.

(c) Permittee may not possess more than three raptors of which no more 
than two may be from the wild. Permittee may not obtain more than two 
raptors from the wild as replacement birds during any twelve-month 
period.

(d) Permittee may not take, transport, or possess any golden eagle or any 
species listed as threatened or endangered in state or federal regula-
tions published pursuant to the Endangered Species Act of 1973.

(3) Master class

(a) Permittee shall have at least five years experience in the practice of 
falconry at the general class level or its equivalent.

(b) Permittee may not possess more than six raptors, of which only three 
raptors may be taken from the wild. Permittee may not obtain more 
than two raptors from the wild as replacement birds during any twelve-
month period.

(c) Permittee may not take, transport, or possess any golden eagle for fal-
conry purposes unless authorized in writing by the division of wildlife 
and the U.S. fish and wildlife service, and may not take, transport or 
possess any species listed as endangered in state or federal regula-
tions published pursuant to the Endangered Species Act of 1973 or 
unless similarly authorized in writing to do so.

(d) Permittee may not take, transport, or possess more than one raptor 
listed as threatened in federal regulations published pursuant to the 
Endangered Species Act of 1973, and then only with written approval 
by the division of wildlife and the U.S. fish and wildlife service.

(e) Permittee may possess and transport captive-bred raptors listed as 
threatened or endangered in accordance with federal regulations, only 
with written approval from the division of wildlife.

(N) No raptors may be acquired for falconry purposes unless the person 
acquiring the raptor first obtains a numbered, non-reusable marker 
supplied by the U.S. fish and wildlife service or from the division of 
wildlife or a unique “Passive Integrated Transponder” implanted under 
the skin. This marker must be attached to the raptor immediately upon 
acquisition. Unused markers are not transferable. Provided further cur-
rent holders of a falconry permit shall report any new raptor acquired or 
transferred within five days of the transaction. . The report must be on a 
form 3-186A or form provided by the division of wildlife and include the 
federal band number and proof the raptor has been legally acquired. 
All completed forms must be forwarded to the United States fish and 
wildlife service and the division of wildlife

(O) Any marker, mutilated, stolen, or lost shall be reported in writing within 
seventy-two hours to the division of wildlife. Markers no longer legible 
shall be reported in the same manner. The marker must be replaced 
by a permanent, non-reusable marker supplied by the United States. 
fish and wildlife service or the division of wildlife. Once received, the 
replacement marker must be attached to the raptor immediately, and 
a form 3-186A must be provided to the United States fish and wildlife 
service and the division of wildlife within five days.

(P) It shall be unlawful for any person to alter or deface a marker except that 
a permittee may remove the rear tab on the marker and may smooth 
any imperfect surface provided the integrity of the marker and the 
numbering are not affected. It shall be unlawful to use or possess a 
counterfeit marker.

(Q) Markers should remain on raptors which die until final disposition of 

the carcass. Markers shall be removed from raptors which die or are 
intentionally released into the wild and shall be forwarded to the divi-
sion of wildlife within five days along with a form 3-186A or a similar 
form provided by the division of wildlife and include the probable cause 
of death or the area of the release. Raptors of a species not indigenous 
to Ohio shall not be released without written authorization from the 
chief. A standard federal bird band shall be attached to all raptors prior 
to release, whenever possible.

(R) A person possessing a raptor under a falconry permit shall use the rap-
tor for falconry purposes only, except that general and master class 
falconry permit holders may promote the sport of falconry, including 
the use of falconry birds held under their permit for not-for-profit edu-
cational presentations. Permit holders may not participate in for profit 
activities utilizing falconry birds unless otherwise authorized by the 
chief of the division of wildlife.

(S) No person shall transfer, buy, sell, or barter, or offer for transfer, sale or 
barter, or transport for transfer, sale or barter a raptor unless otherwise 
authorized by the chief of the division of wildlife.

(T) A permittee may transport a raptor under his or her permit to another 
state for falconry purposes without a permit from the division of wildlife.

(U) A raptor held under authority of a falconry permit may be held in tempo-
rary facilities or held temporarily by a person other than the permittee, if 
that person is authorized to possess raptors. The following shall apply:

(1) The period of care shall not exceed thirty days.

(2) The division of wildlife shall be notified in writing prior to the transfer. 
Notice shall include the location the raptor will be held, who will be car-
ing for the raptor and the approximate duration the raptor will be held 
at the temporary facility.

(3) All raptors held in temporary facilities shall be provided with an ad-
equate perch and protected from extreme temperature and excessive 
disturbance.

(V) Feathers that are molted or those feathers from raptors held in captiv-
ity that die, may be retained and exchanged by permittees for imping 
purposes only.

(W) Live propagated game birds may be used at any time for training pur-
poses in areas designated by the division of wildlife as a dog training 
area or designated by the falconer on the falconry permit application.

(X) Any species of prey for which the season is not currently open that is 
accidentally taken must be released if alive. The dead prey shall not be 
taken from the field, but the raptor can feed upon it. Provided further; 
European starlings, English sparrows, and pigeons, other than homing 
pigeons, may be taken and possessed and used for the capturing, train-
ing, and feeding of raptors. Starlings, English sparrows, and pigeons 
shall not be sold, traded, or bartered.

(Y) The division of wildlife shall not be liable for damages caused by raptors 
possessed or used in falconry.

(Z) All raptors possessed by a permittee who becomes physically incapable 
of performing the requirements in this rule or by a permittee who dies 
shall be given to the division of wildlife for disposal, except that a fal-
coner may provide in writing any preferred legal disposition of raptors 
held in possession. Approved dispositions include transfer to another 
licensed falconer, release back to the wild if wild captured, transfer to 
a raptor breeding program, transfer to a licensed educational institution 
or transfer to a member of the immediate family of the permittee that 
is in a master or general falconry class. Family members shall have 
priority to receive the permittee’s raptors.

(AA) Any hybrid raptor flown for the purposes of falconry must have at-
tached thereto two separate , functioning radio transmitters for the 
purpose of locating the raptor. The intentional release of hybrid raptors 
is prohibited.

(BB) Failure to comply with any provision of this rule may result in revoca-
tion of the falconry permit.



(CC) No person who is permitted under authority of this section shall band 
any raptor with any band issued by the U.S. fish and wildlife service or 
the division of wildlife unless that raptor was lawfully captured, trans-
ferred or possessed by the permittee.

(DD) All definitions set forth in rule 1501:31-1-02 of the Administrative 
Code shall apply to this rule.

1501:31-37-02 Raptor capture season, propagation, 
permits, and fees.

(A) No person shall capture or attempt to capture a raptor without hav-
ing first obtained a raptor capture permit. The capture permit fee shall 
be fifteen dollars, and shall expire on the date listed on the permit. 
The permit shall authorize the applicant to take the species of raptor 
mentioned on the permit and within the time allotted on the permit. If 
a raptor is captured by the permittee, the permittee shall file a report 
with the division of wildlife on the capture permit within the time limit 
indicated in the permit. If no raptor is captured within the time allotted 
on the permit, the permit and marker issued with the permit shall be 
returned to the division of wildlife within the time limit indicated on the 
permit by certified mail or in person. A capture permit shall be valid for 
one bird. In addition to any other penalties, no permit will be issued to 
any person who previously failed to file the report required by this rule 
or failed to return the permit and marker as required by this rule.

(B) The permittee may trap, evaluate, and immediately release any raptor 
that has been captured if the permittee believes the bird is not suit-
able for falconry, while at the capture site. All raptors removed from the 
capture site must be banded with the seamless band issued with the 
capture permit within twenty-four hours of capture, except that raptors 
captured with life threatening health condition or injuries may be imme-
diately transported unbanded to a licensed rehabilitator for treatment.

(C) Each person that captures a raptor under authority of a raptor capture 
permit shall immediately record the date and time of capture in the 
space provided on the permit prior to removing the raptor from the 
capture site. The permittee shall submit the completed capture permit 
and a copy of form 3-186A to the division of wildlife within five days 
of capture.

(D) It shall be unlawful to capture a raptor for another person.

(E) It shall be unlawful for an apprentice class permittee to capture a raptor 
except under the direct supervision of their sponsor.

(F) It shall be unlawful for any person to take a haggard bird at any time, 
except for the American kestrel (Falco sparverius).

(G) Raptors shall be captured only with a Bal-chatri type trap, a bow net 
type trap, a Swedish goshawk type trap, dho gazza type trap, pigeon 
harness or any other device approved by the division of wildlife. All 
traps must be operated in such a manner as to minimize any danger 
of injury to a raptor. All traps while being used to capture raptors shall 
have a tag in the English language bearing the name, address, and 
permit number of the user attached.

(H) It shall be unlawful for any person to trap a raptor except from August 
first through March first of the following year.

(I) A falconry permittee may recapture escaped raptors held under his per-
mit at any time.

(J) It shall be unlawful to engage in raptor capture activities without first 
having in possession the capture permit and a valid hunting license. 
Said license and permits shall be exhibited to any law enforcement of-
ficer upon request. It shall be unlawful to falsify the information placed 
on the capture permit.

(K) Failure to comply with any provision of this rule may result in revocation 
of the falconry permit and the capture permit. All fees from revoked 
permits shall be forfeited to the division of wildlife.

(L) The chief shall determine the species of raptors and the numbers of 
each which may be removed from the wild, based upon the best avail-

able biological information derived from professionally accepted prac-
tices in wildlife management.

(M) No person may place raptors in a breeding situation, attempt to breed 
raptors naturally or by artificial insemination, sell, offer for sale, trade, 
or barter raptors, raptor eggs, or raptor semen without first obtaining a 
raptor propagation permit from the division of wildlife and United States 
fish and wildlife service.

(N) The chief , upon receipt of an application and after inspection of facili-
ties may issue a permit authorizing raptor propagation in accordance 
with federal regulations. all federal regulations in 50 CFR 21.30 are 
made part of this permit which is further conditioned as follows:

(1) Raptors held under a propagation permit must be held in an approved 
facility with a total of at least one hundred twenty square feet of floor 
space and a minimum height of six feet. Propagation facilities must 
meet or exceed federal guidelines, unless otherwise approved by the 
chief of the division of wildlife in writing.

(2) Raptors used in propagation may be obtained from any legal source. 
Non-releasable raptors may be obtained from licensed rehabilitation 
facilities provided prior written authorization has been obtained from 
the United States fish and wildlife service and the chief of the division 
of wildlife.

(3) A commercial raptor propagation permit may be issued for a period not 
to exceed three years. The fee shall be fifty dollars for each year the 
permit is issued. A non-commercial raptor propagation permit may be 
issued for a period not to exceed three years. The fee shall be twenty-
five dollars for each year the permit is issued. A commercial raptor 
propagation permit will authorize the permittee to propagate, sell, of-
fer for sale, trade, and barter raptors, raptor eggs, and raptor semen 
produced in captivity.

A non-commercial raptor propagation permit will authorize the person to 
use or transfer, as a gift, raptors produced in captivity. No person shall 
transfer or receive a raptor unless legally entitled or permitted to hold 
said raptor. Persons holding a commercial raptor propagation permit or 
a non-commercial raptor propagation permit shall maintain accurate 
diurnal records and submit an annual report to the United States fish 
and wildlife service and the division of wildlife as required by 50 CFR 
21.30 and any additional information as the chief of the division of wild-
life may require prior to January thirty-first of each year.

(4) A commercial and non-commercial raptor propagation permit shall ex-
pire on the date specified on the permit.

(5) Each raptor possessed for the purpose of propagation shall be banded 
with a seamless, numbered band or marker issued by the United States 
fish and wildlife service and/or the division of wildlife.

(6) Each permit holder must notify the division of wildlife in writing within 
five days from the date the first egg of each clutch is laid by any raptor 
held under authority of a raptor propagation permit.

(7) All progeny produced under authority of a raptor propagation permit, 
shall be banded within fourteen days of hatching with a seamless, 
numbered band or marker issued by the United States fish and wildlife 
service and/or the division of wildlife.

(8) It shall be unlawful to transfer any wild captured raptor to a propagation 
permit unless it has been utilized in falconry for a minimum of two 
years.

(O) It shall be unlawful to place a band or marker on any raptor that was 
captured or produced unlawfully.

(P) All definitions set forth in rule 1501:31-1-02 of the Administrative Code 
shall apply to this rule.


