
Transportation Permit No. Wholesale Permit No. Date Received Check Amount Date Issued Issued By

Name of Business	 Name of Applicant Tax ID or SSN

Street Address

City	 State Zip Code Telephone #

Names of All Parties or Officers if a Partnership or Corporation

 Signature of Applicant	 Date	 If Applicant is a Corporation, Name and Title of Agent Submitting this Application.

List the Name and Address of your Statutory Agent in Ohio if you have one

Applicant is:	   An individual	   Partnership	   Corporation	
E-mail Address

Does Applicant Now Hold a Valid Ohio Lake Erie	 License Number	 Type of Fishing Gear Licensed
Commercial Fishing License?	   Yes	   No

CHECK TYPE OF PERMIT DESIRED:

  Commercial Fish Wholesale Permit (Fee $65.00)    

  Fish Transportation Permit (Fee $65.00)               

The applicant requests the permit for the following listed Ohio business addresses where fish are to be held, stored, handled, or processed 
for the purpose of sale to a person or business who ordinarily resells such fish:

1. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________

2. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________

3. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________

4. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________

5. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________

	 Attached is check no. _____________ payable to the Ohio Division of Wildlife in the amount of $_____________.
The applicant acknowledges that the laws governing the permit(s) may change periodically and they will maintain a knowledge and understanding of the 
laws pertaining to the permit(s). (Reference website: http://codes.ohio.gov)

Submit completed form to: ODNR Division of Wildlife  305 E. Shoreline Drive, Sandusky, Ohio  44870

	   Please return my permit(s) electronically.

Do Not Write Below This Line

Ohio Department of Natural Resources
DIVISION OF WILDLIFE

COMMERCIAL FISH WHOLESALE PERMIT 
AND/OR 

FISH TRANSPORTATION PERMIT APPLICATION
Completion of this form is required: under Ohio Revised Code Sections 1533.301, 1533.631 and 2921.13

PLEASE READ LAWS ON THE REVERSE SIDE.

DNR  8983  (R1016)
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OHIO REVISED CODE SECTIONS 1533.301 and 1533.631

1533.301 Annual permit for transporting fish - suspension or revocation.

Any person may apply for a permit to transport fish that are for sale, sold, or purchased. 
The chief of the division of wildlife shall issue an annual permit granting the applicant 
the privilege to transport such fish, upon filing of an application on a form prescribed by 
the chief and payment of a fee of sixty-five dollars. No person shall transport any fish or 
part thereof that is for sale, sold, or purchased, whether acquired in or outside this state, 
unless the consignor has a permit for the calendar year in which the fish is transported, 
except that no such permit is required for any of the following: 

(A) Fish transported from a point outside this state to another point outside this state if 
the fish are not unloaded in this state. A fish is not to be considered unloaded for pur-
poses of this section if it remains under the control of a common carrier. 

(B) Fish being transported by a person holding a valid license under section 1533.34 of 
the Revised Code from the place of taking to the person’s usual place of processing or 
temporary storage as designated by the person in the application for the license under 
that section; 

(C) Fish being transported from a premises designated in a valid permit issued under 
section 1533.631 of the Revised Code to a premises where fish are to be sold at retail, 
sold for immediate consumption, or consumed if inspection of the designated premises 
as required by that section has not been denied during the preceding thirty days; 

(D) Any quantity of fish the total weight of which does not exceed five hundred pounds 
in one vehicle; 

(E) Minnows for which a permit is required under section 1533.40 of the Revised Code. 

If a fish for which a permit is required under this section is transported in this state from 
a consignor who does not have a valid permit at the time of transportation, or if such a 
fish is transported in this state from a consignor who has a valid permit at the time of 
transportation, but the fish is part of the contents of a box, package, or receptacle that 
was or could be the basis for conviction of a violation of this chapter or a division rule, 
the fish may be seized by any law enforcement officer authorized by section 1531.13 
of the Revised Code to enforce laws and division rules, and the fish shall escheat to the 
state unless a court of this state makes a specific finding that the consignor at the time 
of seizure had a valid permit under this section and that the fish are lawful under the 
requirements of this chapter or a division rule relating thereto. 

A fish for which a permit is required under this section may be transported only if each 
box, package, or other receptacle bears a label showing the total weight in pounds, the 
species of the fish, the name of the consignor and consignee, the initial point of billing, 
the destination, and a statement that each species of fish by weight in the box, package, 
or other receptacle that are undersized under section 1533.63 of the Revised Code or 
division rule is ten per cent or less or is in excess of ten per cent, whichever the fact may 
be. If fish are not boxed or packaged, each compartment of a tank or other receptacle 
shall be considered a separate receptacle, but in lieu of a label on the compartment or 
tank a written statement containing the same information required to be contained on 
a label, and clearly identifying the tank or receptacle concerned, may be carried in the 
vehicle. Species may be designated in any manner, but the label also shall bear either 
the common name indicated in section 1533.63 of the Revised Code or the scientific 
name contained in section 1531.01 of the Revised Code. The consignor shall ascertain 
that labels are attached or statements carried as required herein and that the facts 
stated thereon are true. 

The permit required by this section may be suspended by the chief for a period not 
to exceed five days upon conviction of the permittee of a violation of this chapter or 
Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code or a division rule if the permittee has been convicted 
of another such violation during the preceding twelve-month period. If the permittee 
has had two or more such convictions during the twelve-month period preceding such 
a conviction, the permittee’s permit may be suspended as provided herein for a period 
not to exceed twenty days. A permit is invalid during the period of suspension, but in no 
case is a permit invalid until fifteen days after mailing by certified mail a notice of the 
rule of suspension by the chief. 

The chief may not suspend more than one permit of the same permittee, or suspend a 
permit of the same permittee more than once, for convictions resulting from violations 
that occur in a load in one vehicle. 

A driver or other person in charge of a vehicle transporting fish that are for sale, sold, or 
purchased, upon demand by any law enforcement officer authorized by section 1531.13 

of the Revised Code to enforce laws and division rules, shall stop and open the vehicle and 
allow inspection of the load, and any box, package, or receptacle, and the contents thereof, 
for the purpose of determining whether this chapter or a division rule is being violated. 

The word “fish” in the English language, at least eight inches high and maintained in a 
clear, conspicuous, and legible condition at all times, shall appear on both sides of the 
vehicle body of all vehicles transporting fresh water fish in this state when the fish are 
for sale or sold, except those fish exempt from a transportation permit in divisions (A), 
(B), and (E) of this section. 

The chief may refuse to issue a permit to any person whose purpose in applying for the 
permit is to allow it to be used by another person to whom a permit has been refused or 
revoked. The chief also may revoke a person’s permit when it is used for that purpose. 

No civil action may be brought in any court in the state for the value or agreed price of 
fish that have escheated to the state under this section. 

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of this section or a division rule adopt-
ed pursuant thereto. 

In addition to other penalties provided in the Revised Code, the permit of any person who 
is convicted of two violations of this section that occurred within a twelve-month period 
is suspended upon the second such conviction by operation of law for a period of five 
fishing season days immediately following that conviction. 

In addition to other penalties provided in the Revised Code, the permit of any person who 
is convicted of three or more violations of this section that occurred within a twelve-
month period is suspended upon the third or subsequent conviction by operation of law 
for a period of twenty fishing season days immediately following that conviction. 

During any period of suspension, no person shall use or engage in hauling or trans-
porting fish with equipment owned, used, or controlled at the time of conviction by the 
permittee whose permit has been suspended. 
Effective Date: 09-26-2003

1533.631 Permit for handling fish at wholesale.

Any person may apply for a permit to handle commercial fish, or other fish that may be 
bought or sold under the Revised Code or division rule, at wholesale. Prior to making 
application for such a permit, a person first shall satisfy the following qualifications to 
the satisfaction of the chief of the division of wildlife: over eighteen years of age, no 
prior conviction of or plea of guilty on or after the effective date of this amendment to 
a felony concerning commercial fishing activities for a violation of state or federal law, 
and ninety days Ohio residency immediately preceding application. The chief shall issue 
an annual permit granting the applicant the privilege to handle such fish at wholesale at 
one or more designated premises upon satisfaction of the pre-application qualifications, 
filing of an application on a form prescribed by the chief, and payment of a fee of six-
ty-five dollars. No person or a person’s agent shall handle at wholesale any fresh water 
fish or part thereof unless a permit has been issued for the calendar year in which the 
fish is handled at wholesale for the premises at which the fish is handled. 

A fish is handled at wholesale for purposes of this section when it is on a premises 
within the state and is being held, stored, handled, or processed for the purpose of sale 
to a person who resells the fish. 

The permit required by this section shall be issued subject to the right of entry and 
inspection of the designated premises of the permittee by any law enforcement officer 
authorized by section 1531.13 of the Revised Code to enforce the laws and rules of the 
division of wildlife. Such an officer may enter and inspect the designated premises and 
any box, package, or receptacle, and the contents thereof, for the purpose of deter-
mining whether any provision of this chapter or Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code or 
division rule is being violated. 

No person holding a permit under this section shall remove a label required by section 
1533.301 of the Revised Code unless the box, package, or receptacle bearing the label 
has been opened or unless the label is replaced with another label that meets the 
requirements of that section. 

No person shall fail to comply with any provision of this section or division rule adopted 
pursuant to it. 
Effective Date: 2007 SB77 10-10-2007 
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