Ohio Department of Natural Resources Publication 79
Division of Wildlife (R508)

TROTLINE AND DIP NET REGULATIONS FOR THE LAKE ERIE FISHING DISTRICT
Fishing season: March 1 through December 10.

Trotline applications and licenses may be obtained from the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Wildlife,
305 East Shoreline Drive, Sandusky, Ohio 44870.

For each boat used in fishing with a trotline of 70 hooks or less on one line, the license fee is $20 per fishing season. For
each boat used in fishing with trotlines of more than 70 hooks on one or more lines, the license fee is $100 per fishing
season.

Every trotline used in the Lake Erie Fishing District shall have painted, branded, stamped, or burned on the tally buoy at
each end of each trotline, in legible letters not less than one-inch high, the name or names of the owner(s) operating this
device.

Trotlines of 70 hooks or less shall be marked with all-red buoys or floats.
Trotlines of more than 70 hooks shall be marked with all-white buoys or floats.

Any trotline which is wholly or partially made of wire, or does not have the proper color of buoys or floats attached thereto,
is illegal.

Trotlines are not allowed on any reef in Lake Erie, or within the closed areas of Maumee Bay, Camp Perry Firing Range,
Bass Islands, West Sister Island, Kelleys Island, and Ruggles Beach.

All fish must be removed from a trotline at least once every five days, and brought ashore between one-half hour before
sunrise and one-half hour after sunset.

No person shall bait or remove fish from a trotline between sunset and one-half hour before sunrise.
Licensees with trotlines of more than 70 hooks shall keep accurate records of their catch for each day. They shall submit
a report for each month, even though they did not fish during the period. Reports are due the 15th of each month for the

previous month’s fishing activity.

All dip nets used in Lake Erie are licensed at $100 per season and shall have the owner’s name printed, branded,
stamped, or burned on the lifting pole of the dip net, and the license tag shall be attached to the rim line of the net.

Since the trotline and dip net are commercial gear in the Lake Erie Fishing District, licensees are required to conform to
the legal lengths listed below (see the Commercial Fishing Law Digest for the complete list):

Fish Minimum Length Fish Minimum Length
Perch 8-1/2 inches Catfish 14-1/2 inches
. White Bass or .
Bullheads 9 inches White Bass hybrids 11 inches

All such fish caught or taken of a length less than that prescribed shall be released back to the water immediately with as
little injury as possible.

All live cars and other fish holding devices, except ponds, must have the owner or user's name and address printed,
branded, or stamped on the top of such device. A wholesale permit is needed when fish are kept in a live car and then
sold to a wholesaler.



