
The applicant certifies that he understands the provisions of Section 1533.23 and 1533.24 of the Ohio Revised Code (see 
reverse side), that this application is made in good faith with the statements made herein being true.

 (Applicant’s Signature) (Date)

DIVISION OF WILDLIFE
Ohio Department of Natural Resources

FUR DEALER PERMIT APPLICATION

Full Name of Applicant Date of Birth Tax ID # or Social Security No.

Street Address  County

City State Zip Code Telephone No. (home)

Business Name  E-mail Address

Business Address					      		   County

City State Zip Code Telephone No. (business)

Check or money order No. _______________ for $75.00 or $200.00 payable to the Ohio Division of Wildlife is attached.

	 (check one)   New Permit.    Renewal Permit   	  Resident ($75.00)	    Nonresident ($200.00)

DNR 8845
(R1013)

Send this application to:
ODNR Division of Wildlife, Law Enforcement - Fur, 2045 Morse Rd. Bldg. G, Columbus Ohio 43229-6693

Completion of the form is required - Section 2921.13 O.R.C., Penalty: Imprisonment up to 6 months or $1000 fine or both. 
 Section 1533.99 O.R.C., Penalty: Imprisonment up to 30 days or $250 fine or both.

RENEWALS: An annual fur dealer summary report must be submitted prior to issuance of a new permit. Blank report forms may 
be obtained from WildOhio.com or by contacting the Permit Coordinator.

q  Annual summary report included with application

q  Annual summary report emailed (date submitted: ___________  sender email address: _________________________)

q  Annual report mailed (date submitted: ___________

q  No furs were purchased under my permit last year

For official use only:

Date Received: ______________  Check No.: ___________ Amount: _________   Report Received  q Yes   q No

Approved by: ________________________  Permit Number: _______________  Date Issued: ______________



LAWS: Fur Dealer Regulations
Revised Code of Ohio

1533.23 Fur dealers’s permit.

No person shall deal in or buy green or dried furs, skins, or parts thereof taken from fur-bearing animals of the state, 
except domesticated rabbits, without a fur dealer’s permit. Every applicant for a fur dealer’s permit shall make and subscribe 
a statement setting forth the applicant’s name, place of residence, and whom the applicant represents. Every applicant 
for a dealer’s permit who is a nonresident of the state, or who is a resident of the state and is an agent or representative 
of a nonresident person, firm, or corporation, shall pay an annual fee of two hundred dollars to the chief of the division of 
wildlife issuing such permit, and every applicant for a dealer’s permit who is a resident of the state shall pay an annual fee 
of seventy-five dollars to the chief issuing such permit. Every fur dealer shall operate under such additional rules as are 
provided by the chief the fees into the state treasury to the credit of the fund created by section 1533.15 of the Revised 
Code for the use of the division of wildlife in the purchase, preservation, protection, and stocking of fur-bearing animals and 
for the necessary clerical help and forms required by this section and section 1533.24 of the Revised Code.

All permits shall be procured from the chief and the application, license, and other blanks required by this section and 
section 1533.24 of the Revised Code shall be in such form as the chief prescribes. Each such permit shall expire on the 
thirtieth day of April next after its issuance.

1533.24 Fur dealer's daily record - forms - carrier restrictions.

Except as otherwise provided by division rule, every fur dealer shall keep a daily record on forms provided by the division 
of wildlife of all purchases and sales of furs, skins, or parts thereof of fur-bearing animals made during the previous year. 
The daily record shall include any pertinent information that the division may require. The information may include, but not 
be limited to, the number and kinds bought and sold, the dates of each purchase and sale, identification of all purchases 
from another fur dealer, and the state and counties in which the furs, skins, or parts thereof were taken. Every fur dealer 
shall submit completed forms to the division of all transactions made during the preceding season by the fifteenth day of 
May each year. All records required to be maintained by a fur dealer shall be open at all reasonable times to inspection by 
duly authorized division personnel who may inspect the furs, skins, or parts thereof on hand at any time and check and 
verify the records and reports required to be kept.

No common carrier shall knowingly ship or transport or receive for transportation or shipment any green or dried furs, 
skins, or parts thereof of fur-bearing animals unless there is plainly written thereon the name of the shipper and the number 
of the shipper’s hunting license or fur dealer’s permit.

Administrative Code of Ohio

1501:31-15-19 Fur dealer report.

(A) All persons dealing in green or dried furs, skins, or parts thereof and licensed pursuant to section 1533.23 of the Revised 
Code shall keep accurate daily records of all species of furbearing animals which are bought or sold. Such records shall be 
open to inspection by any employee of the division of wildlife.

(B) All daily records are to be maintained at the place of business for a period of two years. Failure to properly and 
accurately complete daily record forms and the fur dealer summary report shall constitute a violation of section 1533.24 
of the Revised Code.
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